TECOW EM Cell Group 1


i love you…Jesus.. by jen1255
April 9, 2009, 11:57 am
Filed under: Uncategorized

this past monday i was on the computer doing some homework (or procrastinating…same thing) and i decided to listen to some Christian music via youtube…songs that i didn’t have and was too lazy to download! as i was listening to one new and unfamiliar song i decided to scroll down at the comment section. there was one person who wrote something about the song and then wrote ‘i love you Jesus’. as i was listening to another song, scrolling down at the comments i read another entry that talked about the song, and they also wrote ‘i love you Lord’.

a couple of songs later and a couple of comments later i realized how many people opening confess their love for Jesus in a little comment box. but it wasn’t their mere confession that struck me…what struck me was how unfamiliar i was to hearing people say those words – I LOVE YOU JESUS!! i hardly, if ever, say those words to people myself and to be honest i don’ t think i ever said ‘i love you Jesus’ to Jesus before. i know that i don’t have to say those words for him to know who i am or how i feel about him, i do love him and i know he knows it, but i find it strange that i’ve never actually said those words to him before.

i even tried to look up passages in the Bible that had people say ‘i love you (Jesus)’ and David did say it in Psalms 18:1 (” ..I love you, O LORD, my strength.”) and there was a part in John where Jesus asks Simon Peter three time if he loves him and Simon Peter does say so (“The third time he said to him, “Simon son of John, do you love me?” Peter was hurt because Jesus asked him the third time, “Do you love me?” He said, “Lord, you know all things; you know that I love you.” Jesus said, “Feed my sheep.”- John 12:17), but there weren’t that many verses. what there was a lot of was His love for us;

– his unfailing love and enduring love (1 Chronicles and Psalms)

– ‘For great is your love toward me; you have delivered me from the depths of the grave.” – Psalm 86:13

– “For God so loved the world that he gave his one and only Son, that whoever believes in him shall not perish but have eternal life.” -John 3:16

these are just some verses of many that illustrate how much we are loved.

but then as i kept on searching through the online Bible (hehe..made it easier than looking though the actual physical Bible), it came back to my initial thought that it doesn’t matter if i say the actual words, ‘i love you Lord’, what matters is that i acknowledge him, that i obey him, that i praise and worship him, that i am faithful to him, that i do his works and is used by him, that i know him, and that i love him the way i know how.

– ” “Because he loves me,” says the LORD, “I will rescue him; I will protect him, for he acknowledges my name.” -Psalms 91:14

– “Because your love is better than life, my lips will glorify you.” – Psalms 63:6

again, obviously there are many other verses that i could have shared with you all, but as you can see i didn’t get past the book of Psalm (haha…no i did but love wasn’t expressed the same).

anyhoos…my point is, love the Lord your God with all you heart, and with all you soul, and with all your strength and with all your mind because He loves you with everything he has, and he has shown this to us by the physical life he has given us and the by spiritual life he has given us through his Son.

-jen

3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

this is so true! i always find it very incredible of people who confess their faith on such public forums. but i guess that’s what we’re supposed to do as christians! online bible sounds like fun. if i ever get a blackberry or iphone, i’m getting a digital copy of the bible for it! (cheaper than the $100 audio bible cds i bought for my dad -_-;;)

Comment by jennynotjen

o.k..I don’t know how to post a new note.
But this is respond to Jen’s great post! (Jen, a great post!!) My plan was to go to sleep at 11:30 p.m but Jen’s post gave me this urge to share this.

Jesus asked Peter three times and Jesus didn’t simple asked same questions three times but he was asking different kinds of love. It took me so long to find the version that was written differently.
In english bible, greek works Agapeo and Philos translated into ‘love’ but Agapeo and Philos have different meanings. Agapeo is God’s love toward us and Philos is like a friendship.
(I’m not sure, google it!)
So first time, Jesus asked if Peter loves Jesus as he loves Peter and Peter answered with Philos love (friendship love). For second time, Jesus again asks him if Peter loves Jesus in Agapeo love, and again, Peter said he loves him in Philos love. And finally Jesus asks him if Peter loves him in Philos love and Peter, as before, says he loves Jesus in philos.

Here is the version I found.
It’s amplified bible version- not sure about this..

15When they had eaten, Jesus said to Simon Peter, Simon, son of John, do you love Me more than these [others do–with reasoning, intentional, spiritual devotion, as one loves the Father]? He said to Him, Yes, Lord, You know that I love You [that I have deep, instinctive, personal affection for You, as for a close friend]. He said to him, Feed My lambs.

16Again He said to him the second time, Simon, son of John, do you love Me [with reasoning, intentional, spiritual devotion, as one loves the Father]? He said to Him, Yes, Lord, You know that I love You [that I have a deep, instinctive, personal affection for You, as for a close friend]. He said to him, Shepherd (tend) My sheep.

17He said to him the third time, Simon, son of John, do you love Me [with a deep, instinctive, personal affection for Me, as for a close friend]? Peter was grieved (was saddened and hurt) that He should ask him the third time, Do you love Me? And he said to Him, Lord, You know everything; You know that I love You [that I have a deep, instinctive, personal affection for You, as for a close friend]. Jesus said to him, Feed My sheep.

I see myself as Peter. will I ever love Jesus like how Jesus loves me? Am I ready to give up everything? Is God’s love really enough? When I praise him with song ‘Your Grace is enough, your love is enough’, do I really meant it? And it’s amazing how God still loves me even thought I can only love him in ‘philos’ way. Like in bible, Jesus didn’t asked Peter why he (Peter) can’t love him back, Jesus simply saying Peter’s love is enough… Seems like Jesus is saying our love is enough…

see you tomorrow

Ellen

Comment by Ellen

it took me one hour to write this post…the time is wrong!

Comment by Ellen




Leave a Reply

