TECOW EM Cell Group 1


“test” of faith by 1nv35t3df41th
February 24, 2009, 11:49 pm
Filed under: Scripture

it’s sunday night, i wake up from my nap after young adult service, too sick to go to adult bible study. thinking to myself, “hmmm, what am i going to do about my test tomorrow that i was supposed to prepare for all week but ended up reading nothing”. i start reading the first out of 8 articles and continue to read until i get a little past the second article. i decide i’ll go to sleep because im still feeling really bad and i check my class sylabus to make sure the test is in fact the next day…it is.

in the morning i sleep in and miss my morning class still feeling drained and loathing the test that i have for my next class. i get up start reading. i continue calculating “3pm is when the class starts i have x amount of time before i need to start getting ready and then i will study while traveling to my class”..i call a friend to just to see if i’m in luck and the date is wrong. unfortunately it is right. at this point i start thinking to myself, “hmmm faith, will faith pass my test”. i start thinking about last semester and the amazing marks that i got and reassure myself by saying, “it wasn’t all me anyway so he’ll help me out of this one too…multiple guess it is”

my cell rings (vibrates…same thing).

aimee- “hey nathaniel, i just got a call from sadia. she say’s she was wrong and the test is tomorrow”

me- “thank God! (its what i really said) i’ve been reading like crazy trying to catch up i guess i’ll have some more time now!”

aimee- “well dont stop because it is still tomorrow! (knowing how i like to procrastinate)”

me- “thanks i’ll see you later”

i hang up the phone (press end…same thing) and think to myself, ” God’s not going to let me get away with doing nothing, but how will i read all those articles still? at least i will have some time to do more than i did!”……….i finish a day of school and come home still trying to get over my sickness. i read (not much more but i try my best). i sleep.

the next day. i wake up i read (still not getting close to eight articles). feeling exhausted (this sickness keeps making me feel tired and congested in my nose and neck glands)  i take a quick nap before having to get ready for my 2pm class. i dont end up reading on the bus again……. i finish my test not knowing how well i did, especially because the whole way through i had to use the washroom but its 45 min test and i had to use the washroom for at least 10 of those minutes if you know what i mean. on the way home i think to myself…

“God wants me to have faith in Him but He also wants me to work hard for what i want. i did not accomplish much more than i had before but He wants to see me put some kind of effort in. i know even if i do good or bad He was there with me the whole time and i still have faith that i will reach my goal.”

ultimately what will my mark reflect…

good mark= motivation to work harder

bad mark= motivation to work harder

if i get a good mark i will post it, but if my mark is under 70% you will not be reminded of this post….

all of this reminds me of Han MSN sermon + matthew 7:7+8

“Ask and it will be given to you; seek and you will find; knock and the door will be opened to you. For everyone wo asks receives; he who seeks finds; and to him who knocks, the door will be opened.”

– we must act first in faith and confidence before God will reveal himself to us.

(sorry for the LOOONNNNGG post again) daeshin

ps: joseph this is just an example and if you look at the other posts there are shorter and better examples…

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

oh man – can i ever relate to you daeshin. i remember all throughout highschool, i struggled with trying to understand why i needed to study if God answers prayers. but, taking advantage of God’s love is never kosher. on the other hand, it feels rather silly to act in confidence when you feel so incompetent. and then there’s the question of priority: am i really honouring God by doing well in school; spending all my time studying and not enough time with Him? God doesn’t care about marks! although i know that God is happy to see us work hard at our goals and achieve them through faith and reliance in His strength, this was a constant internal battle for me until this year.

also, having to use the bathroom during tests/exams sucks hardcore. in grade 11, i didn’t want to bother asking the teacher whether i could pee during a test (because i thought i could finish it quickly), and was so distracted during the test that i got a horrible mark. i learned my lesson.

Comment by jennynotjen




Leave a Reply

